The Computer Science Department of ENS (DI ENS), created in 1999, is both a teaching department and a research laboratory affiliated with CNRS and INRIA (UMR 8548).

On the teaching side, the DI ENS trains students through its Pre-doctoral program and the Masters program (MPRI).

On the research side, the the research is structured into research groups. The DI ENS is member of the Fondation Sciences Mathématiques de Paris. The research is supported by ENS, CNRS, and INRIA, and can be described according to three main areas: programming languages and reliability, algorithms and analysis, learning and complex data.

Programming languages and reliability: The Antique team designs methods of "static analysis" to mathematically prove the absence of certain kinds of errors in software. The Parkas team works on reliable programming languages in some scenarios such as movement planning for trains or parallelism for modern computer architectures.

Algorithms and analysis: The Cascade team studies cryptographic algorithms and their application to the security of Internet protocols. The Talgo team develops algorithms for combinatorial optimization and for problems with a geometric or topological flavor. The Dyogene team analyzes the dynamic of geometric networks arising from communication networks, such as random graphs and stochastic geometric networks.

Learning and complex data: The Data team uses notions of applied mathematics to represent complex data in high dimension, e.g. music or video, to perform "classification". The Sierra team exploits complex data in high dimensions, e.g. in vision or biocomputing, for computational learning. The Valda team's focus is on both foundational and systems aspects of complex data management, especially human-centric data. The Willow team uses computational learning to interpret and annotate images and videos.

The Computer Services (SPI) and the Mathematics and Computer Science Library are common to the DI ENS and the Department of Mathematics and Applications (DMA).




Département d'informatique
École normale supérieure
45 rue d'Ulm
F-75230 Paris Cedex 05

How to get there


Chairman: Jean Ponce
Vice Chairman : David Pointcheval
Head of Administration: Sophie Jaudon
Phone: 01 44 32 20 34
Fax: 01 44 32 20 75
E-mail: direction[@]di[.]ens[.]fr

Directeur de publication : Jean Ponce


Director of studies: Marc Pouzet
Assistant director of studies: Damien Vergnaud
Director of teaching activities: David Naccache
Secretary: Isabelle Delais

Webmaster: webdi[@]di[.]ens[.]fr.