Crypto Team - CASCADE

Cryptography (see more details)

Cryptographic algorithms are the equivalent of locks, seals, security stamps and identification documents on the Internet. They are essential to protect our on-line bank transactions, credit cards, medical and personal information and to support e-commerce and e-government. They come in different flavors. Encryption algorithms are essential to protect sensitive information such as medical data, financial information and Personal Identification Numbers (PINs) from prying eyes. Digital signature algorithms (in combination with hash functions) replace hand-written signatures in electronic transactions. A similar role can be played by MAC algorithms. Identification protocols allow to securely verify the identity of the party at the other end of the line. Therefore, cryptology is a research area with a high strategic impact for industries, individuals, and for the society as a whole.

The research activity of the project-team CASCADE addresses the following topics, which cover almost all the domains that are currently active in the international cryptographic community, but mainly in the public-key area:



How to find us


Members of the Team

Head of the team: David Pointcheval


Associated Members


  • Angelo De Caro - CDD Fondation ENS (Chaire France Telecom)
  • Itai Dinur - CDD ENS (FSMP)
  • Thomas Peters - CDD CNRS (ERC CryptoCloud)

Ph.D. Students

  • Fabrice Ben Hamouda - 2012 - ENS
  • Florian Bourse - 2014 - CNRS (ERC CryptoCloud)
  • Mario Cornejo - 2013 - INRIA
  • Geoffroy Couteau - 2014 - CNRS (ERC CryptoCloud)
  • Rafael Del Pino - 2014 - INRIA (FUI CryptoComp? )
  • Pierrick Meaux - 2014 - INRIA (ANR CLE)
  • Alain Passelègue - 2013 - ENS (ANR PRINCE / DGA)

Ph.D. Students in collaboration with the Industry

  • Sylvain Ruhault - 2011 - Oppida
  • Sonia Belaid - 2012 - Thales
  • Jérémie Clément - 2013 - Thèse CIFRE Crocus
  • Simon Cogliani - 2013 - Thèse CIFRE CS
  • Houda Ferradi - 2013
  • Diana Maimut - 2011
  • Thomas Prest - 2012 - Thèse CIFRE Thales
  • Oliviers Sanders - 2012 - Thèse CIFRE Orange Labs
  • Adrian Thillard - 2013 - ANSSI



  • Romain Gay
  • Anca Nitulescu

Former Members


Crypto Seminar

Working Groups

Collaborative Research Projects

  • 2014-2018: ANR JCJC EnBiD: Encryption for Big Data
  • 2014-2019: ERC Advanced Grant CryptoCloud: Cryptography for the Cloud
  • 2013-2017: ANR JCJC CLE: Cryptography from learning with errors
  • 2013-2016: ANR INS SIMPATIC: SIM and PAiring Theory for Information and Communications security
  • 2012-2016: ANR JCJC ROMAnTIC: Randomness in mathematical cryptography
  • 2011-2015: ANR ARPEGE PRINCE: Proven Resilience against Information leakage in Cryptographic Engineering
  • 2011-2015: ANR VERSO ProSe: Security protocols : formal model, computational model, and implementations

  • 2011-2014: ICT EU-Brazil SecFuNet: Security for Future Networks
  • 2010-2013: ANR VERSO BEST: Broadcast Encryption for Secure Telecommunications
  • 2009-2013: ANR VERSO SAPHIR II: Sécurité et Analyse des Primitives de Hachage Innovantes et Récentes (Security and analysis of innovating and recent hashing primitives)
  • 2008-2012: We lead the MAYA virtual lab of the network of excellence ECRYPT II
  • 2007-2011: ANR SESUR PAMPA: Password Authentication and Methods for Privacy and Anonymity
  • 2007-2011: ANR TELECOM PACE: Pairings and Advances in Cryptology for E-cash
  • 2006-2010: ANR TELECOM SAVE: Sécurité et Audit du Vote Electronique (Security and audit for electronic voting)
  • 2005-2009: ANR RNRT BACH: Biometric Authentication with Cryptographic Handling
  • 2005-2009: ANR RNRT SAPHIR: Sécurité et Analyse des Primitives de Hachage Innovantes et Récentes (Security and analysis of innovating and recent hashing primitives)
  • 2005-2009: ARA SSIA CrySCoE: Cryptographie pour la sécurité des codes embarqués (Cryptography for the security of embedded systems)
  • 2005-2009: ARA SSIA FORMACRYPT: Formal security proofs for cryptographic protocols
  • 2004-2008: We lead the AZTEC virtual lab of the network of excellence ECRYPT

Publications of the Team (since 2013)

Webmaster: webdi[@]di[.]ens[.]fr.